NOS Kiev 4 boxed from 1965 - french import
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jed
France
391 Posts
My Collection

Posted - May 06 2015 :  12:18:56 PM  Show Profile  Visit jed's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi,

Just bought a new Kiev 4 + Jupiter 3 boxed from 1965 !

Camera comes with box plus import receipt and invoice showing both camera and Jupiter 3 were sold at the same time. First time I see proof Jupiter 8 can be replaced with another lens.

Price was 580 french francs. Monthly wages were about 370 francs so, the camera was expensive (1967 Leica M2 price was 1339 francs).

Edited by - jed on May 06 2015 1:35:28 PM
Jacques M.
France
2554 Posts
Posted - May 06 2015 :  4:45:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

In 1965, as a beginning teacher, I earned exactly 795,04 francs. and I was in the suburbs of Paris...
So, I could have bought your Kiev, Jed. But only if eating rice and drinking water...

Not really cheap, I think...

Jacques.
Go to Top of Page
Lenny
496 Posts
Posted - May 06 2015 :  11:02:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Jacques M.

Not really cheap, I think...

I guess the first 2 digits are the years 1962 and 1963. Little bit strange to sell them 2 years later in 1965. I wonder how much cheaper it would have been with Jupiter-8 or Jupiter-12 and in comparison a Fed-2.
Go to Top of Page

Juhani Halmeenmaki
cedricfan
Finland
1005 Posts
My Collection

Posted - May 07 2015 :  11:21:49 AM  Show Profile  Visit cedricfan's Homepage  Reply with Quote
And who knew back then what the serial meant? Shops didn't have many cameras in stock, and from single cameras it is hard to say that the beginning means year!

Best regards,
Juhani
Go to Top of Page
Lenny
496 Posts
Posted - May 08 2015 :  12:02:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by cedricfan

Shops didn't have many cameras in stock