new user, better present themselves to the group
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
marcolin
25 Posts
Posted - Apr 25 2016 :  10:00:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi There

i am new to the Russian cameras, i am a proud owner of a Kiev III early model, S/N 52612.

i am quite satisfied by the purchase, since is a really nice camera, just some quirks i need to get used.

the only details is upsetting me, and i still have an open controversy, and is the left selector/rewinding knob that is not convincing me!! I mean the position looks strange, but unfortunately i do not have access to any other kiev to judge.

by the way i just run two rolls of film and dev them and i am amazed by the IQ!! WOW for a 64 years old camera!!!!

cheers

Vladislav Kern
Vlad
USA
4247 Posts
My Collection

Posted - Apr 25 2016 :  10:05:13 AM  Show Profile  Visit Vlad's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Welcome Marcolin! Thanks for posting!

Kiev III of that year is very possible to have still have German parts and Zeiss glass, so the results should be pretty good. If you post the picture of the rewind knob in question someone here can tell you if it's normal or not.

Best regards,
Vlad.
Go to Top of Page
marcolin
25 Posts
Posted - Apr 25 2016 :  10:13:19 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Vlad!!

thanks for the reply!!

http://www.ussrphoto.com/UserContent/2542016_knob.JPG

t is normal for the window to point against the side wall of the light meter? is barely visible, and also impossible to make all the time vs shutter speed couples turning it. not usre if i can explain myself.

By the way i am really pleased with this camera. it is really well done.

http://www.ussrphoto.com/UserContent/2542016_top.JPG

regards
Go to Top of Page

Vladislav Kern
Vlad
USA
4247 Posts
My Collection

Posted - Apr 25 2016 :  10:20:22 AM  Show Profile  Visit Vlad's Homepage  Reply with Quote