Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
James McGee
James McGee

Azerbaijan
192 Posts
Posted - Jan 25 2008 :  11:26:28 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi I have just joined the forum, and would like to introduce myself.
My name is Jim McGee and I have been collecting Russian cameras for the past ten years.
My home is in the UK, but I am presently working in Baku, Azerbaijan.
I have a reasonable collection made up of many Soviet cameras, but my favourite is the Fed-1 of which I have more than fifty examples, many of which are quite early, ie serial # lower than 55,000.
Looking forward to the forums, Cheers to everyone, Jim.

Vladislav Kern
Vlad
USA
4247 Posts
My Collection

Posted - Jan 25 2008 :  11:42:42 AM  Show Profile  Visit Vlad's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Welcome, Jim! Azerbaijan, eh? I'm originally from Georgia so not too far from there... hehe... Maybe you can help us with that Feica camera that Jacques has. Do you have any FED 1A's in your collection? Also see this thread for more details:

http://www.ussrphoto.com/Forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=358

Vlad
Go to Top of Page
James McGee
James McGee
Azerbaijan
192 Posts
Posted - Jan 25 2008 :  12:43:17 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Vlad, I did read about jacques "Feica" and as far as I know some pre war fake Leicas were made at the Fed factory. There is an article on the internet by Oscar Fricke which mentions these cameras. If I can find the link I will post it.
I do have several Fed 1A's in my collection two of which are the galvanised versions, ie serial# below 6,000. I think the lowest serial # is around 1,700, but I can't check until I return to the UK at the end of February.