Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Davide Cavallaro
California

Italy
9 Posts
Posted - Jun 06 2008 :  10:09:57 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
... But "California" is just a nick, I'm from Milan, Italy, and just registered to this forum.

Some words about me:

My name is Davide Cavallaro, I was born in Padua, near Venice, Italy, some 42 years ago. I work as a service engineer in the so-called Graphic Communication Group of a big American company that really did the history of photography, and whose name starts and ends by K... guess it !
Since 2001 I live in Milan.
I have a wife, two little kids and about 100 old cameras, mainly from the former USSR and DDR. I'm also a Zuikholic, as proud user of a huge Olympus OM system, but that's not the place for this kind of stuff .
I don't consider me a real collector. I don't have a place to display them, I never tried to catalog them as well... I'm even not sure about the exact number of cameras dusting in my shelves .
Nor I consider me a real user: I used maybe 10 or 15 of my oldies, and just some three or four of them are more or less in regular use (a Fed-3, a Kiev-4, a Moskva-2 and a Pentacon Six).
I just like too much these old bunch of metal and glass!
Once I used to restore old motorbikes, mainly Moto Guzzi and Ducati. My favourite one was my 1971 Guzzi V7 California 850.
When my first son born and I moved to Milan I sadly had to quit all my bikes, so I started fiddling with old cameras and lenses.
And, yes, my nick name is just a memento of my favourite bike .
My first task will be now to catalog my cameras and share with you all the interesting things I will hopefully find out.

And, of course, ask you plenty of questions!

I wish everybody a nice weekend.

Vladislav Kern
Vlad
USA
4251 Posts
My Collection

Posted - Jun 06 2008 :  3:59:10 PM  Show Profile  Visit Vlad's Homepage  Reply with Quote